Arunachal: Gauhati HC declares 2019 election of MLA Kariko Kri “nul and void”

Guwahati: The Gauhati High Court on Monday (July 17) unseated Tezu MLA Kariko Kri from the MLA seat by declaring the 2019 assembly election result “null and void”.

Kariko Kri would be no longer the MLA of Tezu after the Court decission. He also could not enjoy any benefits which he has enjoyed when he was the MLA.

Ahead of assembly polls in Arunachal Pradesh, this development seems to be very big.

The Itanagar permanent bench of the HC pronounced the decision after perusing Election Petition No 01 (AP), 2019, filed by Congress candidate Nuney Tayang, challenging the declaration of the result of the 2019 assembly election for the Tezu assembly constituency.

Karikho Kri, who was elected as an independent MLA from the Tezu Assembly constituency, became the second representative to be disqualified, following BJP’s Dasanglu Pul on April 25.

In another case, the election of Dasanglu Pul, representing the Hayuliang Assembly seat, was challenged by Congress candidate Lupalam Kri, who lost to Pul in the 2019 election.

The bench of Justice Nani Tagia heard the petition and observed that Dasanglu Pul had also failed to present her nomination paper in accordance with Section 33 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

The post Arunachal: Gauhati HC declares 2019 election of MLA Kariko Kri “nul and void” appeared first on OUR INDIA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *